Ask a Counselor


The United States Medical Licensure Examination (USMLE) is a series of examination which a medical student has to take in order to obtain, license in United States, it consists of three steps and four exams, it is designed to assess a physician’s ability  to apply  broad spectrum of knowledge, concepts & principles to evaluate the physicians basic patient centered skills.

The USMLE is sponsored by the Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States, Inc. (FSMB), and the National Board of Medical Examiners® (NBME®).

In the United States and its territories, the individual medical licensing authorities ("state medical boards") of the various jurisdictions grant a license to practice medicine. Each medical licensing authority sets its own rules and regulations and requires passing an examination that demonstrates qualification for licensure.

The USMLE provides a common evaluation system for applicants for initial medical licensure.
Once the passing score for step1 or step 2ck is achieved, one cannot retake the exam in order to achieve a higher score, therefore it is important to be prepared to achieve high score.

USMLE consist of three steps :

  • STEP 1       -       Basic science exam
  • STEP 2CK -       Clinical knowledge exam
  • STEP 2CS  -       Clinical Skills exam
  • STEP 3       -       Patient Management skills
Step1, Step2CK & Step2CS can be taken in any order. Step1 & 2CK can be given in India at Thomson prometric centers whereas one Step2CS & Step3 can only be given in the United States.